M

Years of litigation in public, destroyed business relationships, high costs and unsatisfactory process results are often the consequence of conflicts and failed relationships. The secret to maintaining dialogue, openness to solutions and perhaps also the ability to still keep the relationship somewhat healthy despite a conflict is built on the three pillars of listening, empathic understanding, and successful communication.

Mediation as a structured process encompasses exactly these three areas of competence, which is what makes it so successful. As a certified intercultural and bi-lingual mediator, I help to resolve conflicts out of court – quickly, effectively, and discreetly.

Although the principles and process of mediation on which its success is based remain the same across topics, I focus primarily on the areas of separation & divorce (family law mediation), inheritance mediation, and workplace mediation.

While I am generally in favor of face-to-face sessions, online or shuttle mediations have increasingly proven their worth, triggered by Corona among others, and are particularly suitable for disputes between highly contentious parties.

Shuttle mediation can also be used when the parties live too far apart geographically for traditional mediation.

Do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions about this.

Family mediation

A divorce is drastic. Often it is difficult to talk to each other, although there may be many things to work out before you finally part.

However, before ending up in a tough legal battle, and usually at the expense of dialogue between the parties, I am interested in bringing calmness and clarity to this difficult time. Examples of situations where mediation is quite suitable:

  • You want to settle your divorce quickly and orderly. Without hectic. You don’t know if you can do it together and allow a neutral person help you.
  • Your situation is complex, e.g. because of a company, a home, special tax constructions or property involved
  • You have already separated, but you are stuck with parental contact arrangements
  • You have divorced earlier, but you want to make new arrangements
  • Your daily life has changed, e.g. you have to move to a “distant place” and you cannot maintain joint parental care. What now?
  • A new partner makes conversations more difficult…?

I would like to help you. Because the alternative is that you end up in court proceedings. Two sides are hostile to each other. This causes stress and costs time, money, and energy. If you are open to a solution and you are interested in not destroying the relationship level, perhaps also because of common children, you should give yourself and mediation a chance.

Inheritance mediation

Two figures make the conflict potential in this area particularly clear: In 90% of all inheritance cases, the testator does not leave a will.

Around 350,000 company transfers are due in the next 5 years, but only just under 40% of entrepreneurs have a clear idea of the succession arrangements.

Disputes within communities of heirs often have emotional backgrounds. If these are revealed with the help of a mediator, unexpected solutions often emerge.

In inheritance mediation, you negotiate a solution to your conflict together, articulate your wishes and feelings, and thus create an atmosphere of togetherness again. Often the relationship between the parties involved is even improved through mediation. A mutual understanding takes place.

Mediation in the workplace

“We don’t have conflicts in our company – and if we do, our HR department will handle it.”

Sounds familiar? Interpersonal problems can arise at any point in a workplace: Between individual colleagues, in a team, between departments, in the relationship between supervisor and employee(s), or even between managers themselves or in the relationship between management and works council.

The reasons for this are manifold. External factors such as high workloads, structural and personnel changes can play a role. Often, there is a lack of clear and direct communication. And then there is the “human factor” – not everyone thinks, feels, acts, reacts and works in the same way.

An early and systematic handling of conflicts can considerably reduce frictional losses – to the benefit of the individual employee as well as the company. The support of a third party not involved in the conflict is absolutely helpful in clarifying and resolving the conflict. Such third parties can be found within the company, such as employees in the human resources department or in the works council.

However, internal parties are seldom perceived as “neutral”, which can have a detrimental effect on the willingness to have an open discussion.

Certified mediators like myself can help to clarify the situation within the framework of a clearly structured procedure using a variety of suitable methods, even in the case of conflicts that have escalated to an emotionally high level.

Conflict Coaching

Conflict coaching is a one-on-one process designed to develop the client’s skills in dealing with conflict or to assist in dealing with a particularly difficult or complex conflict. We usually focus on one of three levels:

  • Improving an important relationship that has been damaged by an ongoing conflict
  • Building skills to resolve conflict constructively
  • Strategic management of organizational change

I help my clients identify conflict patterns – within themselves or in their organization – and develop constructive, solutions-oriented approaches.

The roots of organizational conflict may lie in the structure of the organization, in the processes of organizing work, or in the capabilities of its members. The ability of an organization’s leader to deal constructively with conflict, provide effective feedback, work across divisions, lead and manage change, listen, and facilitate creative and collaborative teams has a major impact on success. Adapting structures and improving processes also requires individuals to make it all work.

MEDIATION

Mediation offers a way, in addition to litigation, to find a solution to disputes. Especially compared to a lawsuit in court or to arbitration proceedings, mediation offers some clear advantages:

  • A high chance of finding a way to resolve disputes
  • A short duration; sometimes only a few hours and usually no more than a few days
  • procedural costs, which are generally lower than in court or arbitration proceedings
  • Experience shows that solutions found in the mediation process are adhered to by all parties involved and are very sustainable.

Mediation is not a transfiguring soft-wash program with hand-holding, nor does it have anything to do with hidden powers. Rather, it is a well-structured way of conducting negotiations that is several hundred years old. Since then, however, the principles of mediation have evolved, based on the insights of Harvard’s Principles of Negotiation.
Mediation should be your tool of choice if you want to resolve your conflict

  • Expeditiously
  • Positive
  • Forward-looking
  • Cost-effective
  • and in all confidentiality

While in court proceedings you usually wait 1-2 years for a – in the result uncertain – decision, conflicts in mediation, depending on their nature and complexity, can often be solved within a few weeks.
Even though a lawsuit often ends with a settlement and is not lost, the parties often feel like losers because of a “foul” compromise. Mediation, on the other hand, gives you the opportunity to develop a customized solution to your specific problem, because the human factor may overrule a legal paragraph.

Mediation is so successful because a separate, jointly achieved result takes into account precisely your interests. In this way, the process is not only perceived positively, but always leaves 2 winners at the end. In court, this can usually look different, despite a good lawyer. The confrontational basic attitude is dissolved by mediation and enables you to continue the private, business or family relationship in the future. Your energy is no longer burdened with a conflict from the past but is once again available for more important things: Shaping your future business and personal success.

Prerequisites for mediation

Mediation can only be used if the following conditions are met on all sides

  • Participation is voluntary.
  • The participants are willing to communicate fairly.
  • The parties to the conflict are open to a solution.
  • The conflict can be delimited.
  • The contents of the mediation meetings are treated confidentially.
  • The participants are willing to disclose all factual content needed for clarification.

Costs

Compared to the classical court process, mediation not only offers the advantage of a significantly faster and often especially tailor-made result. Another essential aspect, because it is also noticeable in the balance sheet, is the cost advantage. The fee for mediation is calculated on the basis of an hourly rate, which is set individually and usually borne equally by the parties. The individual session usually lasts one and a half to two hours. The drafting of a notary agreement is charged according to the lawyers’ fee schedule.

The duration of a mediation process depends on the complexity of the conflict issues to be settled. We can give an estimate after the first meeting. As a rule, the costs of litigation are significantly higher. You can evaluate potential costs that you will incur in legal proceedings with the legal costs calculator.

6 + 1 =

Contact \

Call me or send me an Email!
KISS Communications · Laszlo Kiss
Munich
laszlo@kiss-communications.com
+49 (0)176 70 47 54 23

M

Jahrelange Prozesse in aller Öffentlichkeit, zerstörte Geschäftsbeziehungen, hohe Kosten und unbefriedigende Prozessergebnisse sind häufig die Folge von Konflikten und gescheiterter Beziehungen. Das Geheimnis, im Konflikt den Dialog, Lösungsoffenheit und vielleicht auch die Beziehungsfähigkeit aufrechtzuerhalten, baut auf die drei Pfeiler Zuhören, empathisches Verstehen, und gelungene Kommunikation.

Die Mediation als strukturierter Prozess umfasst genau diese drei Kompetenzbereiche und macht sie deshalb so erfolgreich. Als zertifizierter Mediator helfe ich dabei – interkulturell und bi-lingual -, Konflikte außergerichtlich, schnell, effektiv und diskret zu lösen. Nicht Auswege, sondern Perspektiven sind mein Maßstab.

Auch wenn die Prinzipien und der Prozess der Mediation, auf den sich ihr Erfolg begründet, themenübergreifend gleichbleiben, konzentriere ich mich vor allem auf die Bereiche Trennung & Scheidung (Familienmediation), Erbmediation und Mediation am Arbeitsplatz.

Während ich Präsenzsitzungen generell befürworte, haben sich, u.a. getriggert durch Corona, zunehmend online- bzw. Shuttle-Mediationen bewährt, welche sich bei Streitigkeiten zwischen höchststrittigen Parteien besonders eignen.

Ebenso kann die Shuttle-Mediation Anwendung finden, wenn die Parteien für eine klassische Mediation geografisch zu weit auseinanderleben.

+++ Zeit & Nerven sparen mit
Shuttle-/und Online-Mediation +++

Zögern Sie nicht, mich zu kontaktieren, wenn Sie dazu Fragen haben.

Familienmediation
(Trennung/Scheidung)

Eine Scheidung ist einschneidend. Oft ist es schwierig, miteinander zu reden, obwohl es vielleicht noch vieles zu klären gibt, bevor man endgültig auseinander geht.

Bevor man jedoch in einem zähen Rechtsstreit endet, und zwar meist auf Kosten der Dialogfähigkeit zwischen den Parteien, liegt mir daran, Ruhe und Übersicht in diese schwierige Zeit zu bringen. Beispiele für Situationen, in denen eine Mediation ideal ist:

  • Sie wollen Ihre Scheidung schnell und ordentlich abwickeln. Ohne Hektik. Sie wissen nicht, ob Sie das gemeinsam schaffen können und lassen sich von einer neutralen Person helfen
  • Ihre Situation ist komplex, z.B. wegen einer Firma, eines Eigenheims, besonderer steuerlicher Konstruktionen oder einer Immobilie
  • Sie haben sich bereits getrennt, aber Sie stecken in der elterlichen Umgangsregelung fest
  • Sie sind anderweitig geschieden, aber Sie wollen neue Vereinbarungen treffen
  • Ihr Alltag hat sich verändert, z.B. müssen Sie in die „Ferne“ ziehen und Sie können die gemeinsame elterliche Sorge nicht aufrechterhalten. Was nun?
  • Ein neuer Partner macht Gespräche schwieriger

Ich möchte Ihnen helfen. Denn die Alternative ist, dass Sie in einem Verfahren beim Gericht landen. Zwei Seiten stehen sich feindselig gegenüber. Das verursacht Stress und kostet Zeit, Geld und Energie. Wenn Sie lösungs-offen sind und Ihnen daran liegt, die Beziehungsebene vielleicht auch wegen gemeinsamer Kinder nicht zu zerstören, sollten Sie sich und der Mediation eine Chance geben.

Erbmediation

Zwei Zahlen machen das Konfliktpotential in diesem Bereich besonders deutlich: In 90 % aller Erbfälle hinterlässt der Erblasser kein Testament.

Rund 350.000 Firmenübergaben stehen in den nächsten 5 Jahren an, doch lediglich knapp 40 % der Unternehmer haben eine klare Vorstellung von der Nachfolgeregelung.

Streitigkeiten innerhalb von Erbengemeinschaften haben oft emotionale Hintergründe. Werden diese mithilfe eines Mediators offenbar, zeigen sich oft ungeahnte Lösungsansätze.

In der Erbmediation verhandeln Sie gemeinsam eine Lösung Ihres Konfliktes, artikulieren Ihre Wünsche und Gefühle, und schaffen so wieder eine Atmosphäre des Miteinanders. Oft wird die Beziehung der Beteiligten durch die Mediation sogar verbessert. Es findet ein gegenseitiges Verstehen statt.

Mediation am Arbeitsplatz

“Bei uns im Betrieb gibt es keine Konflikte – und falls doch, regelt das unsere Personalabteilung.”

Kommt das Ihnen bekannt vor? Zwischenmenschliche Probleme können an jeder Stelle in einem Betrieb auftauchen: Zwischen einzelnen KollegInnen, im Team, zwischen Abteilungen, im Verhältnis Vorgesetzte/r und MitarbeiterIn(nen) oder auch zwischen Führungskräften untereinander oder im Verhältnis Geschäftsführung – Betriebsrat.

Die Gründe dafür sind vielfältig. Äußere Faktoren wie hohe Arbeitsbelastung, strukturelle und personelle Veränderungen können eine Rolle spielen. Häufig krankt es an klarer und direkter Kommunikation. Und dann ist da noch der “Faktor Mensch” – nicht jeder denkt, fühlt, agiert, reagiert und arbeitet gleich.

Eine frühzeitige und systematische Bearbeitung von Konflikten kann die unternehmerischen Reibungsverluste erheblich eindämmen– zu Gunsten des einzelnen Mitarbeiters wie auch des Unternehmens. Die Unterstützung durch einen nicht in den Konflikt involvierten Dritten ist für eine Klärung und Lösung des Konfliktes unbedingt hilfreich. Solche Dritten können unternehmensintern gefunden werden, etwa MitarbeiterInnen der Personalabteilung oder im Betriebsrat.

Interne werden von den Beteiligten allerdings selten als „neutral“ empfunden, was sich nachteilig auf die Bereitschaft zur offenen Aussprache auswirken kann.

Zertifizierte MediatorInnen wie ich können im Rahmen eines klar strukturierten Verfahrens mit Hilfe einer Vielzahl von geeigneten Methoden selbst bei emotional hoch eskalierten Konflikten zu einer Klärung der Situation verhelfen.

Konfliktcoaching

Konflikt-Coaching ist ein Einzelprozess, der die Fähigkeiten des Kunden im Umgang mit Konflikten weiterentwickelt oder bei der Bearbeitung eines besonders schwierigen oder komplexen Konflikts unterstützt. Dabei konzentrieren wir uns meist auf eine von drei Ebenen:

  • Verbesserung einer wichtigen Beziehung, die durch einen andauernden Konflikt beschädigt ist
  • Aufbau von Fähigkeiten zur konstruktiven Lösung von Konflikten
  • Strategisches Management von organisatorischen Veränderungen

Ich helfe meinen Klienten, Konfliktmuster zu identifizieren – bei sich selbst oder in ihrer Organisation – und konstruktive, problemlösende Ansätze zu entwickeln.

Die Wurzeln von Organisationskonflikten können in der Struktur der Organisation, in den Prozessen der Arbeitsorganisation oder in den Fähigkeiten der Mitglieder liegen. Die Fähigkeit der Führungskräfte einer Organisation, mit Konflikten konstruktiv umzugehen, effektives Feedback zu geben, bereichsübergreifend zu arbeiten, Veränderungen zu leiten und zu managen, zuzuhören und kreative und kooperative Teams zu ermöglichen, hat einen großen Einfluss auf den Erfolg. Die Anpassung von Strukturen und die Verbesserung von Prozessen erfordert auch Einzelpersonen, damit das alles funktioniert.

Was ist MEDIATION?

Die Mediation bietet einen Weg neben dem Klageverfahren, um bei Auseinandersetzungen einen Lösungsweg zu finden. Vor allem gegenüber einer Klage bei Gericht oder gegenüber einem Schiedsverfahren bietet die Mediation einige klare Vorteile:

  • Eine hohe Chance, dass für die Auseinandersetzungen ein Lösungsweg gefunden wird
  • Eine kurze Zeitdauer; manchmal nur wenige Stunden und meistens nicht mehr als einige Tage
  • Verfahrenskosten, die in aller Regel niedriger sind als bei einem Gericht oder Schiedsgericht
  • Erfahrungsgemäß werden Lösungswege, die im Mediationsverfahren gefunden wurden, von allen Beteiligten eingehalten und sind sehr nachhaltig

Mediation ist kein verklärendes Weichspülprogramm mit Händchenhalten und hat auch nichts mit verborgenen Mächten zu tun. Es handelt sich vielmehr um eine durchstrukturierte Art einer Verhandlungsführung, die bereits mehrere hundert Jahre alt ist. Seitdem wurden die Grundsätze der Mediation allerdings, basierend auf den Erkenntnissen der Verhandlungsgrundsätze nach dem Harvard Konzept, weiterentwickelt.

Mediation sollte das Mittel Ihrer Wahl sein, wenn Sie Ihren Konflikt

  • Zügig
  • Positiv
  • Zukunftsweisend
  • Kosteneffizient
  • und vertraulich

lösen wollen.

Während Sie bei Gerichtsverfahren in der Regel 1-2 Jahre auf eine – im Ergebnis unsichere – Entscheidung warten, lassen sich Konflikte in der Mediation häufig innerhalb von ein paar Wochen lösen.

Auch wenn ein Prozess häufig mit einem Vergleich endet und nicht verloren wird, empfinden sich die Parteien häufig ob des „faulen“ Kompromisses als Verlierer. Bei der Mediation haben Sie hingegen die Möglichkeit, eine maßgeschneiderte Lösung für Ihr konkretes Problem zu entwickeln.

Mediation ist deshalb so erfolgreich, weil ein eigenes, gemeinsam erzieltes Ergebnis gerade Ihre Interessen berücksichtigt. Auf diese Weise wird das Verfahren nicht nur positiv empfunden, sondern hinterlässt am Ende immer 2 Gewinner. Das kann vor Gericht meistens, trotz eines guten Anwalts, anders aussehen. Die konfrontative Grundhaltung wird durch die Mediation aufgelöst und ermöglicht Ihnen, die private, geschäftliche oder familiäre Beziehung in der Zukunft fortzusetzen. Ihre Energie ist nicht mehr mit einem Konflikt aus der Vergangenheit belastet, sondern steht Ihnen wieder für Wichtigeres zur Verfügung: Der Gestaltung Ihres zukünftigen geschäftlichen und privaten Erfolges.

Voraussetzungen für Mediation

Mediation kann nur eingesetzt werden, wenn folgenden Voraussetzungen auf allen Seiten erfüllt sind

  • Die Teilnahme ist freiwillig.
  • Die Teilnehmer sind bereit, fair zu kommunizieren.
  • Die Konfliktparteien sind in Bezug auf die Lösung ergebnisoffen.
  • Der Konflikt ist abgrenzbar.
  • Die Inhalte der Mediationstreffen werden vertraulich behandelt.
  • Die Beteiligten sind bereit, alle zur Klärung benötigten Sachinhalte offen zu legen.

Kosten

Die Mediation bietet gegenüber dem klassischen Gerichtsprozess nicht nur den Vorteil, dass Sie ein deutlich schnelleres und häufig gerade auch maßgeschneidertes Ergebnis erzielen können. Ein weiterer wesentlicher, weil gerade auch bilanziell spürbarer Aspekt: der Kostenvorteil. Das Honorar für die Mediation berechnet sich auf der Basis eines Stundensatzes, der individuell festgesetzt und von den Parteien meist zu gleichen Teilen getragen wird. Die einzelne Sitzung dauert in der Regel anderthalb bis zwei Stunden. Das Aufsetzen eines Notarvertrages wird nach der Gebührenordnung der Rechtsanwälte berechnet.

Die Dauer eines Mediationsprozesses hängt von der Komplexität der zu regelnden Konfliktthemen ab. Eine Einschätzung können wir nach dem ersten Gespräch geben. In der Regel sind die Kosten eines Rechtsstreites deutlich höher. Mögliche Kosten, die Ihnen auf dem Rechtsweg unter Ausschluss anderer Verfahren entstehen, können Sie hier im mit dem
Prozesskostenrechner evaluieren.

6 + 4 =

Kontakt \

Schreiben Sie mir oder rufen Sie mich an!
KISS Communications · Laszlo Kiss
München
laszlo@kiss-communications.com
+49 (0)176 70 47 54 23